Question about Saline and IV Vitamin C

Physician Reference and discussion of the methods, protocols and effects of intravenous vitamin C (versus oral or liposomal).

Moderators: ofonorow, popnowlin

johnyascorbate
Vitamin C Expert
Vitamin C Expert

Question about Saline and IV Vitamin C

Post Number:#1  Post by johnyascorbate » Thu Aug 14, 2014 1:49 pm

Hi Owen,
I'm new to IV vitamin C and have recently started receiving infusions for extra immune support while dealing with Lyme. It came to my attention that the vitamin c (25 grams) I'm receiving is mixed with 500cc's of saline. I have read on this forum multiple times people saying saline is not recommended and sterile water is what is best. Aside from the concern of saline causing too high a sodium level mixed with ascorbate, are there any other problems that can arise from using this combination?
Thanks,
John

ofonorow
Ascorbate Wizard
Ascorbate Wizard

Re: Question about Saline and IV Vitamin C

Post Number:#2  Post by ofonorow » Wed Sep 03, 2014 8:55 am

What is the vitamin C they are using?

Ascorbic Acid - wrong

Buffered Ascorbic Acid - USP - (Bioniche)

Sodium Ascorbate

In any event 25 grams is a low IV dosage, so I don't think it would be a big deal. Dr. Levy says his experience is with purified water.

Regarding Lyme, I would personally be interested in your results from a liposomal protocol of 5 g (or 10 g) daily for a period of at least 10 days. The results that are being reported from Empirical's Quali-c liposomal are amazing.
Owen R. Fonorow
HeartCURE.Info
American Scientist's Invention Could Prevent 350,000 Heart Bypass Operations a year

johnyascorbate
Vitamin C Expert
Vitamin C Expert

Post Number:#3  Post by johnyascorbate » Sun Sep 21, 2014 7:17 pm